The Excellence in Leadership for Family Planning Awards, or the EXCELL Awards, provide an opportunity to celebrate progress being made within our communities to increase access to and use of voluntary family planning information and services.

The EXCELL Awards recognize stakeholders in the following areas:

Country level: This award recognizes extraordinary achievements made by a government, highlighting its approaches and bench-marking performance against key indicators.

Organization/Facility level: This award recognizes the contributions of non-state actors or entities working at the country level in one or more of the following areas: service delivery, advocacy/policy, research, or demand generation for family planning.

Individual/Team level: This award recognizes players whose efforts are crucial in expanding access to voluntary family planning, showcasing their commitments and successes.

Award recipients were publicly recognized during the closing ceremony of the ICFP in Nusa Dua, on 28 January 2016. The winners were:

Country level: Kenya and Ethiopia

Organization/Facility Level: Yayasan Cipta Cara Padu, Indonesia

Individual/Team Level: Janette Loreto-Garin, Secretary of the Department of Health, Philippines, and Hon. Edcel C. Lagman, Representative, 1st District of Albay, Philippines